Selby Bowling Club
Selby's indoor and outdoor bowling centre

SELBY Bowling Club

Who and what are we

Selby Bowling Club was founded in 1901 and was located in James Street Selby; it was an Outdoor Bowling club for men only with a Tennis court and Snooker tables which provided indoor entertainments for the members. The Tennis court was sold and the ladies were admitted in later years. In 1988 Selby bowling club was re located to Brayton, gaining four Indoor bowling rinks, and one extra snooker table and a new outdoor green. In 1995 we were awarded a lottery grant which enabled us to build an extension, gaining two more indoor bowling rinks and changing facilities. We are a Members club and the membership are affiliated to E.I.B.A , Bowls England ,Selby and District Bowling Association , York and District bowling association , York and District Private clubs league , Yorkshire bowling association Yorkshire County Women’s Bowling Association , Selby Ladies Tuesday league , Short Mat bowls league and the Selby snooker league.


Open all year round Selby Bowling Club offers:

6 Indoor Rinks and 8 Outdoor Rinks

3 Full size snooker tables

Fully licensed bar

 Disabled access with equipment and facilities

Large onsite parking

Excellent catering facilities for daily and special occasions

Marquee hire

Functions catered for with bands and discos

Social membership enables you to join in and use all the club’s social facilities

Junior membership is open to anyone under the age of 18 years



Keith Laskey                            Chairperson

Peter Lund                              Vice Chairperson

Malcolm South                       Club Vice President

Tony Ferguson                        Snooker

Jennifer Lund                          Indoor Bowls

Peter Horsman                       Member

Melvyn Hayes                         Member

Christine Maltby                    Member/Secretary

Darren Render                        Member

Paula Heslop                           Club Manager



Martin Hyde                           President for 2017/18

Malcolm South                       Senior Vice President

Vacant                                     Junior Vice President